You can’t beat a bit of cake!

Cake

Tuesday, 22nd January 2013 – what an amazing night this was. Hundreds of senior Human Resources experts attended the 11th Annual HR Directors Business Summit at the ICC, Birmingham which included guest speakers, presentations and workshops and concluded with a prestigious award ceremony. I took my position on a cosy 3-seater sofa, had the League Cup semi-final between Bradford and Aston Villa on in the background and watched the event unfold from the comfort of my living room courtesy of Twitter!

Bromford were represented at the event by some of my colleagues (so no need for me to FaceTime in my t-shirt and jogging bottoms, thankfully!), as we were shortlisted in the Recruitment and Employee Branding category. Our campaign; #gottalovecake was up against industry giants like McDonalds, Royal Bank of Scotland and Impetus Automotive, tough competition to pitch against but as my colleague Alex Abbotts said:

Alex tweet

Why not?

I know I represent Bromford myself, so some may consider my opinion biased, but our campaign was brilliant! I’m not going to explain all about it here, I’ll leave that to Alex (who heads up our Communications Team) who does it wonderfully in this great post.

Why did it work?

It engaged. It got hold of the end-user in a way like no other campaign before. It didn’t just tell the audience what the job is and how they can apply; it told them why they will want this position with Bromford. It wasn’t all about us, it was about the individual – we just made the right noises to get the campaign out to them – and boy did we make a racket! I watched a really interesting video yesterday from a guy by the name of Simon Sinek (thanks to John & Vicky for sharing this). He talks about ‘The Golden Circle’, something that turns an idea into a social movement – which is what we did thanks to Twitter using a very quirky hashtag, some great advertising and the brains of a very creative team of people.

 Golden Circle

So, for those of you who don’t work at Bromford, who didn’t attend last night’s event or didn’t see the army of tweets that invaded social media late into the evening; I’m pleased to say that Bromford did give me that ‘punch in the air moment’ – the award was ours!

What a magnificent achievement. What a great team. What a great place to work.

Now excuse me whilst I tuck into my slice of award winning cake!

Please share your comments and your thoughts below, I'd love to hear from you.

